• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Prints are showing up fuzzy

rcripe

I'm printing on a Mimaki JV3-160 SP.
I've attached a picture of a black and white print and the white has fuzzy black in it. What can I do so its pure white?

Attachments

• JV3.jpg
    JV3.jpg
    35.6 KB · Views: 828

rcripe

I rubbed the vinyl down with alcohol and its still giving me the black overspray.
How do I check if there is a deflected nozzle? I'm not good with all the printer terms.

Get a humidifier for the room. My guess is your humidity has been really low. Causing for a lot of static. Get a humidifier in the room and up the humidity some. This will cut down on the static. The alcohol is going to clean the plasticisers off the surface of the material. If static is not your problem then this would have solved it. Since it didn't help I would guess that humidity is the issue.

I believe your humidity should be in the 40%-60% range. While yours is not super low it is lower then what is recommended. With a higher humidity I would have said this is probably not your problem but since it is lower I would check into it. We noticed a big difference at our shop when we put the machine in a air controlled room with a de/humidifier.

DCSMITH

31% is to low i keep mine between 50 and 60 you do not want to go any higher than that though or you will ruin your material

rcripe

Weird thing is, I have a JV33 Mimaki printer in the same room. I printed the same file on that printer and it does just fine. So if its the static in the room wouldn't it be doing it on both printers?

Weird thing is, I have a JV33 Mimaki printer in the same room. I printed the same file on that printer and it does just fine. So if its the static in the room wouldn't it be doing it on both printers?