• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Professional Development...What do you do?

James Burke

Being a grandpa is more fun than working
As a former vocational trades teacher, it was mandated that we accumulate a minimum number of professional development hours each year. For the most part, we were allowed the freedom to choose those activities and seminars that we deemed beneficial to our needs.

So...now that I'm a business owner, I still place a strong emphasis and value on continuing education and lifelong learning.

This year, I've attended training through the Kaufann Foundation's Fast Trac Growth Venture, and am I'm now in the process of expanding my bookshelf to accommodate the dozen or so books I've picked up for my winter reading list...(I'll post the titles when I get more time).

Aside from the normal "technical" and "hands-on" seminars you attend improve your shop work, what are you doing to improve your managerial, leadership and "soft skills"?

Jim

Gino

Premium Subscriber
I tend to look for new bars and clubs closer and closer to my home. Try them out, evaluate them and decide if I want to join or not.

Actually, I don't do enough of this on my own. We have meetings within our shop to discuss things and find solutions for various situations. Other than going to a few seminars or training sessions, I'm kinda lackadaisical in this department.

Something else you could do to help yourself is join the 'Premium' membership here at :signs101: .......:Welcome:​

James Burke

Gino...I suspected something like that would be coming from you. You crack me up. And yep...I'm long overdue for another premium membership. I'm adding that to my list.