• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Question PVC or Aluminum sign blank and how to prime

Jhmarie

I am a novice and have made a few signs on wood for a local non-profit and friends. My signs feature a certain amount of decorative art combined with the lettering and in the past have been done on wood. I have primed the wood on all sides, top coated with a latex paint and hand painted the artwork and lettering with acrylic paints. If going outside, I use a spar marine varnish.

I have a friend who wants me to make a sign for her small business. She would like a 33" x 22" oval that will be a hanging sign - so I will be painting both sides. I have found both a pvc oval sign blank and an aluminum powder coated sign blank of the right size and similar pricing. Two questions: Which would be best - PVC or aluminum? The PVC comes in a 1/4" and 1/2" thickness sizes.
Second question - how are either of these primed? I need to create a surface that will take the latex and acrylic paints and be durable.

Thank you very much for any help.

Jhmarie

PVC is generally not good for outdoor signs, unless it has been made specifically for that.
The pvc sign blank is sold by the company (Hooks and Lattice) that does specifically show it being used in an outdoor application, but your point will lean me towards the aluminum.

letterman7