• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

PVC vs. Acrylic

dmfahie

I see many folks, especially in SignCraft making beautiful signs out of PVC. I am a rookie at dimensional signage. This being said reading posts and articles on many forums about PVC. Some swear by it, others at it. Acrylic is expensive but dependable, paint it green or black, stud mount/VHB/whatever it handles pretty much what you throw at it. PVC, seems a bit more sensitive, paint it with a darker color you need a paint with a lower reflective value, lighter color a higher value. Seems like allot to figure out here with the PVC. That being said I see allot of respectable names in our industry leaning towards PVC. The brand that comes up is always Komacell. What are you using; why? Just trying to figure out the pros and cons to these materials and whats better for the customer.... and the fabricator.

Thanks.

visual800

We make alot of PVC signage. cut out letters and routed plaques. We have noticed the quality of PVC lately is absolute crap. Our local source has the crappiest pvc we have ever seen it won't even route smoothe. Grimco has the best and the quality of it has even gone down although no one will admit it.

This acrylic you speak of are you referring to the same acrylic I am thinking of? The acrylic I know is fragile unless its 1/4" thick and is better suited for interior signage. We try to not even use acrylic for replacement faces in electrical boxes, lexan is our choice for that

Interior acrylic signs ordered by Gemini look great though

dmfahie

We use .50" acrylic, exterior for raised letters, etc. Being in the north we may have less issues then in the south. I read your posts elsewhere about PVC last night. What are you using in place of PVC?

visual800