• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

QR Code size

ova

I'll try this again out here in the open forums.

We have Realtor customer wanting his QR Code added to 18x24 yard type signs. They are normally placed on the roadside anywhere from 6 to 20 feet away.

How big does the code have to be in order for people in cars traveling at least 20mph to able to scan them on a phone? Or is this even possible? Seems like the code would be distorted to the point of the phone not being able to pick it up.

I have no experience with QR Codes and this is my first go with them.

Any suggestions.

Thanks
Dave

qmr55

guess off the top of my head: as big as possible (18"x18")

+1 if it is even readable by the phones, my guess would be that as well.

It's hard enough taking a picture going by something going 25, having a phone read the QR code I can only imagine would be tougher.

ucmj22

nobody will be scanning these while driving, GUARANTEED. most people interested in a house will circle the block, get out and grab a flyer or zap the code. in that case you could make it as small as 3X3.

signswi

Scanning while driving doesn't work, which is why QR codes on billboards are stupid. ucmj22 is on the money.

Locals Find!

Speaking as someone who does a lot of these. I also have a brand for just for this product. So, I know what I am talking about.

I make my QR codes no smaller than 7" x 7" square on a sign. Any smaller and its to difficult to scan any larger you lose to much area on the sign for other information.