• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Question on vehicle graphics

oc63rag

I've searched and haven't found an answer to this. I have Photoshop and Illustrator and I'd like to practice designing vehicle graphics/wraps. I've asked a few people and everyone has different opinions on what is the "best" way to to this.

How can I take photos of a vehicle, import them into either photoshop or illustrator and do the following:
1. create an outline of the vehicle
2. add graphics
3. view original photo with graphics added

Am I making this more difficult than it actually is? I'm not looking for click by click instructions but general ideas.

Thanks for any help.

noregrets

I am by no means an expert on this - I am just in the playing around stage myself at the moment....but here is what I did.

1. Took photos of my vehicle
2. Did a rough design in photoshop on top of vehicle to see what it would look like
3. Tried to do the measurements etc to get my photo to scale, and decided it would be better to buy the vehicle outline which I did. It wasnt expensive, and saved me a lot of time.

Hope that helps

grafxxx

yeah that is what you want to do
1st take a good side shot of car.
then imort it into what ever progam your using (i use flexi)
then apply graphics on it
take your mesurements eg.from front to rear and top to bottom so when you size it up you have to refferance point.
then bam your all set.
here is a quick example of a design i did
http://www.graphicsbyjarvis.com/JOHNS%20COROLLA.htm

mondo

yeah that is what you want to do
1st take a good side shot of car.
then imort it into what ever progam your using (i use flexi)
then apply graphics on it