• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Recommended books for just starting to master Photoshop?

Holysteel

Helo there everybody,

I would like some recommendations on how to start mastering photoshop from scratch.

I have zero experience with photoshop designing. And would like to change that by learning. Cant depend everything on the graphic staffs.

Maybe there is some book that can be recommend. Or perhaps a website.

Please kindly advise.

I will be using photoshop mainly to create banners & billboard & brochures, namecards.

Thank you.

visual800

GOOGLE and YOUTUBE!...but i think illustrator is far more better and easier than photshop...just my opnion

Fanaticus

I learned by doing. Just about any book will teach you something. Also did A LOT of online tutorials and youtube videos.

I would start with simple stuff before trying to do too much. Like learning what the tools are and what they can do.

"Mastering" is going to take a lifetime. Just worry about one accomplishment at a time.

Also, like mentioned above, you'll probably want to learn Illustrator as well. Photoshop is great and there's a lot you can do with it, but there's a lot you can't too. I was like you and put all my focus into photoshop and now, 10 years later, find myself wishing I knew more about Illustrator.

rjssigns

I've said it before I'll say it again. Go find a technical college and take the classes. That is what I did.
That way you are "forced" to show up, learn the programs and perform on a weekly basis.
You will also be able to build your portfolio.

There is also nothing like being in class with a true professional there to answer your questions and show you short-cuts.