• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Resolutions, passes and what they mean.

PointED

Hi guys, or girls..

I'm not exactly a newbie to the sign industry but I am new to the printing end of it. I've always been a designer, recently however I've been doing more printing. Large format printing. We use the Epson GS6000. My question is about resolutions and passes. When designing obviously you want the best possible PPI resolution, but for printing, Im not too clear on what 720x720 or 720x1440 or what passes mean. Is it a rule of thumb, that like in designing the higher the resolution the better the print? (If thats the case why not choose the higher resolution for all prints?) Is the size of the print file important when choosing a print resolution? If anyone could help me out, I'd greatly appreciate it! Thanks!

Solventinkjet

DIY Printer Fixing Guide
The resolution of your designed files has more to do with the quality of the print than the print resolution does. If you print a high res file on a low res profile, it will look pretty darn good. If you print a low res file on a high res profile, it will look bad no matter what you do. Low res is fast and high res is slow. As a rule, the higher the print resolution, the less grainy the print will be and solid colors look smoother. High res also allows for better transitions like gradients and shadows. Higher resolution also uses more ink and can make color more vibrant or darker depending on the color.