• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Need Help Reverse lit channel letters

Cody Boley

Hello
Im fairly new to the sign world and have recently taken on a job installing 16” tall by 3” thick reverse lit channel letters that are pin mounted into a coral rock wall. My question here is ive never installed something like this and i know adhesive caulking isnt going to hold the weight of the letters so what would be a good anchor to use in the rock to anchor these to the wall?

signbrad

i know adhesive caulking isnt going to hold the weight of the letters
Why do you think this method will not hold the weight?
Concealed stud mounting is the commonest way to install letters, even heavy cast bronze. A 16-inch tall reverse channel is not overly heavy that a 1/4-inch aluminum stud buried in silicone cannot hold it. Obviously, a reverse channel letter that stands off the wall two inches will require studs longer than the typical three inches. I have used studs as long as six inches when needed. Studs are also available in stainless steel which are considerably stronger than aluminum.
It's possible that there may be code requirements in some areas that require something more elaborate, but I have never run into this.
I once installed some very heavy porcelain-on-steel letters that came with specialized hardware that had nuts and expansion elements. I couldn't have pulled the installed letters out if I wanted to. But that was unusual and I have never seen that hardware since.