• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Roland BN-20 Thoughts?

WildWestDesigns

One of the members in my trade group was asking about this printer and I know I saw at least one thread about complaints with media availability and compatibility, but after a search I couldn't find it.

So after not having much luck with the search, I thought I would start up a current thread for those that already have this printer.

Pros/cons, would you recommend it, stay away from it etc.

I just bought one. I am new to this so take this as you may.

I have experience with photo printing, and cutting "regular" vinyl only. I am new to the print cut experience.

The machine is slow to do what it does, but it does a nice job. I am impressed by the output although I have never seen another roland do its thing.

It is truly set it and forget it like the old RONCO commercials. I let it run overnight and pick up my stuff in the morning.

Watch the Roland Videos on youtube. The Manual does not begin to explain all the requirements, like needing to leave at least 2.5" for cutting after you print, for instance to laminate. Learned that the hard way this morning matter of fact.

I got my machine last week Tuesday, and already am having a blast and outputting jobs. I hope to pay for this one, and then save for a bigger one to be able to do bigger jobs. This is an awesome machine for what I need.

BCM

kanini

Looked at the BN-20 on a tradeshow and one drawback in my opinion is that it doesn't have heaters (no print heater or dryer), but maybe that's not an issue in real life usage or what do you that use the machine say? Prints beautifully though...

Fivestar