• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Roland CJ-500 into SC-500

MerlinPrints

Hey guys and gals, noob here, just getting started in wide format digital printing....

I am currently in the process of converting an old Roland CJ-500 into an SC-500.

So far i have flushed all the pigment ink out of the machine.

My next step is to flush it with Roland Eco Solvent Cleaner Cartridges.

Then I plan to put in Some Roland Eco Solvent Max inks in it.

I know i need bigger tubes on the drain bottle, on the way, and heating pre and post, also on the way.

I know I will probably need new print heads, capping station, dampers, pump, and wiper. Just want to see if i can get lucky first.

I am just wondering how you change the dip switches on the motherboard to make it boot up SC 500...

Any help and advice will be appreciated, and you will be rewarded someday by someone elses kind help. :thankyou: for your help in advance.

ddarlak

Go Bills!
Keith Faulkner

there's a blast from the past, keith is a great guy...

if your heads are open now, they will work, the pump will last a few days before the white hoses start to melt.

capping station will be ok for awhile too.

tiredcreations

I wouldn't recommend changing the dip switch. Caused problems for me. Keep it a CJ and and get familiar with the colors it puts out.

wedosigns

Dip sw on main board (1)on 54" model-off 44" model (2) off (3) on-sc500-off cj500 (4)off
You will have to update your firmware as well.
I have an sc500 and the firmware tells it to spit after everypass, which I think would prevent heads getting clogged.

sfr table hockey

Dip sw on main board (1)on 54" model-off 44" model (2) off (3) on-sc500-off cj500 (4)off
You will have to update your firmware as well.