• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Roland ECO Solvent vs HP Latex

visiongraphics

I have been printing on Roland printers for 10+ years and overall have been pretty happy with the machines. We currently run an EJ and (2) XR-640's. We are hearing more and more about the HP Latex printers and are wondering if any Roland users have made the switch to HP and what your results are? Speed, cost of consumables, technical issue / support

StarSign

We ran a Roland for 7+ years, when it finally decided to quit on us we moved to a 25500 it was great for the first year and a half or so then we started seeing problems. Being told that the bugs had been worked out we then added a 210 and it made it about a year before the same problems. It's about time for a new printer and really it's a coin toss, do we get a Roland that we feel pretty good on getting 6+ years out of or do we stay latex and just plan on replacing every 2 years.

PRS Bryan

I would search the forums, there has been much debate and discussion.

I still run both and would say if you are doing large volume roll to roll printing go with latex. If you are doing small runs and concerned about waste go Roland.

A search will give you more comprehensive opinions.

rjssigns

I would search the forums, there has been much debate and discussion.

I still run both and would say if you are doing large volume roll to roll printing go with latex. If you are doing small runs and concerned about waste go Roland.

A search will give you more comprehensive opinions.

I agree with using Roland's for small runs and being aboe to use scrap from other jobs. HP is a no-go for me since the smallest piece you can load is around 42".