• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Roland Grey issue, What other brand will print a good grey

sidcon

I've been printing since 2005 and only had Roland printers religiously and had quite a few different models. None have printed a decent grey and we tried everything in from profiles to pallets. Can anyone recommend a different brand solvent printer that will print a nice variety of grey that's not pink, green, or brown. Thank you and happy hollidays

JoeDG

Wide format trainer and creative enthusiast
Just get one with light black in ink it...an 8 colour machine?

RICHARD SIMMONS

I hve had the same problem. Last time I printed some gray, I changed the color management to one of the MAX's shown there. It becomes a very close gray !

DTP2

Any printer (including a Roland) that is properly profiled can print a neutral grey. This is not a printer issue. This is a profiling issue. Either make a profile that is as neutral as possible using CMYK or the easiest option would be a Max K profile only using black for black generation.

guato

I usually desaturate image and in color adjustment reduce all colors (except K) to minimum - VP 540

Andy D

Grey is actually one of the hardest colors to get right and as DTP2 said it's not the printer, it's a profile issue.

I run a a Roland soljet pro xr-640 with the light grey ink option and it prints grey amazing. never had an issue printing any shade of grey with no special pantone/swatch option. would definitely recommend the upgrade.

ColorCrest

All around shop helper.
General info for any thread reader...

Grey is actually one of the hardest colors to get right and as DTP2 said it's not the printer, it's a profile issue.