• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Roland pnc 1000 for a first timer

stuartm

looking at buying a used roland pnc 1000, im fairly fluent with photoshop, but i have never used a plotter of this type before. what other software do i need to run this. From what i have read the roland driver can be tricky to get working.

round man

You will not be able to run it from photoshop,that is a bitmap editing program,...you'll need a vector editing program like illlustrator or coreldraw and or a dedicated cas cutting program like signlab,flexisign or many of the others used for cutting vinyl

7oaks

I used a PNC 1000 for a long time but I bridged it from Corel to the plotter with SignTools program. Old paint cuts directly from Corel. If you are
just starting, then maybe a earlier version of Corel (ie 7, 8, 9 or 10) would be economical to buy and an old edition of Corel for idoits will get you
a long way up the learning curve

Ken

stuartm

I used a PNC 1000 for a long time but I bridged it from Corel to the plotter with SignTools program. Old paint cuts directly from Corel. If you are
just starting, then maybe a earlier version of Corel (ie 7, 8, 9 or 10) would be economical to buy and an old edition of Corel for idoits will get you
a long way up the learning curve

Ken

thanks, i do have illustrator currently on my mac, its been a while since i have used a pc, im setting up an old tower this week to run the plotter. the current machine owner is running it directly from corel i believe but im not sure what version. Good idea on the idiots book as well i might have to check amazon for a old copy.

Jackpine