• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

roland sp-540v cutting capabilities?

SusanT

Hi Guys,

greetings from Oz

I have recently purchased a roland sp-540v and have a customer that would like me to cut cardboard shapes on my machine. Has anyone done this and is it OK to do so? As it has a sheet cut function I guess it would be able to do it. If so, do you adjust the cutter configuration and/or the blade depth.
I am sure that with the wealth of knowledge and experience of the members, this is obviously pre-schooler stuff :U Rock:

Tparkin

I'm no expert but I'd tend to say that you don't want to try to cut "through" ANYTHING on your machine...aside from sheet cutting, but I'm fairly certain that the sheet cut blade isn't designed for material that heavy. I wouldn't use the sheet cut for anything much heavier than standard banner.

Inkfish Graphics

Sheet cut function is to cut off the job that you just printed. I think you should get the manual out to your machine and REALLY read it before trying something like this. It will never cut cardboard.

Gino

Premium Subscriber
You’re going way-y-y-y outside the realm of what that machine is supposed to do. If you cut anything other than what it is intended for the unit to deliver, you’ll probably be buying a new one soon.

Of course it will cut the cardboard according to the thickness of your material, but to what degree of accuracy is another question.

With a question like that, you’re obviously very new to this line of business. The best way to cut cardboard shapes is either with a utility knife, die punch or a scissors. Some things just have to be done the old fashioned way.

Welcome to :signs101: from PA

weaselboogie

NOOO!!!