• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Roland sp300v versacamm. Print problems!

person'ize it

Hi everybody

I am new to this so please be gentle with me.
I have an SP 300 V and am using versaworks to print and cut from, when i print things off sometimes they come out great and sometimes i get a scoring of ink straight across parts of the print, like as if it has thrown too much ink out.
I notice if i reset the vinyl and print a small area i tend to have no issues it seems to be when you want to print say a metre length!

Am i doing something wrong ? I lift the lever then load my media - I put the rollers as far apart as i can roughly about 1-2cm from the ends of the vinyl then move the two fingers in onto the vinyl everything at this point seems ok and flat, I usually choose generic 1 or generic 2 media from the media option and choose fast print, the printer will start and sometimes i get a perfect print and cut no problem, but have noticed sometimes i get like air pockets under the vinyl and this seems to be where the head hits and scores lines of ink, any ideas please have tried a couple of different medias and various settings on the standard list and so far the only one that has never let me down is clothing heat press material.

Any advice would be great please as it is doing my head in!!

oksigns

At the end of your post, you are describing what sounds like to be head strikes. Maybe the material is curling- which would explain why smaller jobs don't see this.

Try manually cleaning the heads as there may be lint or dust accumulating on there causing the ink to siphon and smear.

Edit: sometimes the loaded media will curl while the printer is warming up. You will want to reset it and reconsider the temperature

person'ize it