• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Roland VC - print heads became uncapped over the weekend?

Andy D

I came in Monday morning and instead of my printer being in hibernation, it said "processing"
and the print heads were uncapped. It looks like the wiping mechanism didn't make a full rotation and wasn't out of the way, the print heads hit it and became stuck to the left of the wiper.
It's a Roland Versa-Cam 540, I'm somewhat new to this printer...
Does it wipe the heads when it does its periodical cleaning over a weekend?
Or is this something that happened Friday & I didn't notice?

Thankfully, I didn't lose any nozzles but want to find out what happened so that I can prevent
it in the future.

Thanks

Solventinkjet

DIY Printer Fixing Guide
I don't have a ton of experience with that printer but I know for sure it wipes the heads when it does periodic cleanings. If the wiper didn't get out of the way and the heads hit it, that would cause the machine to either error out and/or just freeze to protect the heads. I would look at the wiper mechanism and clean any ink off and possible grease it to make sure it moves properly.

Andy D

I don't have a ton of experience with that printer but I know for sure it wipes the heads when it does periodic cleanings. If the wiper didn't get out of the way and the heads hit it, that would cause the machine to either error out and/or just freeze to protect the heads. I would look at the wiper mechanism and clean any ink off and possible grease it to make sure it moves properly.

Thanks Solvent, that seems like a huge design flaw...do you happen to know if there is a way
to turn that off? I don't remember our Mimakis doing that, or am I wrong?

Solventinkjet

DIY Printer Fixing Guide