• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Roland vs Mimaki

Which printer?

• Total voters

unzapped

Ok. So I am looking at two previously enjoyed printer/cutters Roland SP 540v around 8k and aimaki cjv30-100 around 5k. Both in working order.

Thought on this? I know there are a TON of variables. I have a 4x8 Camaster CNC and do a bunch of carved stuff... Looking for accents on these types of signs, and for heat press apparel. Maybe some banners/stickers here and there.

SameDay Signs

I would go mimaki all the way but honestly if your done looking and it's down to those I would go roland because it's a 54" better off buying. Jv33 and pairing it with a good cutter......will be able to cut more accurately and not tie up printer while cutting

player

Hours of use, number of head shots, record of head strikes etc. are important. When talking a 10-14 year old printer, probably more important than the make.

jfiscus

Rap Master
I would visit your local printer distributor and see what specials they have currently available. You might be surprised and find a brand new or demo printer for slightly more (or even less) than these printers. We've purchased demo printers for as low as $6000. We recently sold used our Mimaki printers for under $1000 each.
As mentioned above, you're really going to want a separate printer and cutter, and also a laminator.

These are both REALLY old printers that potentially have a lot of issues or potential problems. It sounds like you're just getting your feet wet in the industry, so the last thing you want is to have to pay printer repair bills. Does either printer even come with a RIP to run it?