• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Saving onyx files

CanuckSigns

I've been using onyx thrive for about 2 years no, and I have a noob question

Back when I ran versaworks, you had the option of saving your ripped files as .rvw files, which saved all your profile info, tiling specs etc. So if you needed to reprint a panel 2 years later you could easily do that.

Is there such a feature in onyx? I've looked at the file menu and don't see a "save" option.

It's pretty much the only feature from versaworks that I miss.

ikarasu

All your files are saved in the onyx work folder under the printer name. Something like c:/onyx/work/hp latex blah blah.

Every month I manually back up the folder - then if I need to go back to get certain colors, I pull the job name out of that folder.. Drop it into onyxs current work folder and it's there.

Not the most efficient way... But It works. I find keeping more than a month in the folder ends up slowing onyx down upon opening it.

Bly

If you open your jobs through Job Editor it will save an ONX file which has all the details stored in it.
Next time you want to print that job open the ONX file instead of the source file.

CanuckSigns

OK, follow up question, when I click the save button in Job Editor, I don;t get an option to choose where to save the file, where does it go by default?

MikePro

the only issue i've had with onyx, is if you somehow change your file structure, i.e. move a file from print folder to a subfolder within it or rename a folder, the onyx file doesn't recognize/update this. understandably so. the onyx file only contains information as to how the original file was handled/scaled & selected profiles/color changes/etc.