• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Scoring Vinyl Banners?

Happyprinter

Hello all, I am fairly new to the Banner business and am wondering if there is an easier way to score the outer edges of our vinyl banners. We are currently using a ruler and a scoring bone to crease the edges before we apply double sided tape to seal the edges before adding the grommets. Takes a lot of time and effort. Is there a hand tool that you could set say for 2" and run along the edges creating a score? Have been unable to locate anything. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

sfr table hockey

The method I use was posted on 101 a long time back so I can't remember to whom the credit should go to but here it is.

I don't score the fold area but do have a board cut 2 1/8" wide and that is my guide width. I lay the banner face down and mark a solid line 2 1/8" from the edge of the banner material. From there I lay the hem tape (1 inch wide) along the marked line so that the outside edge of the tape is on that line. This should leave 1 1/8" of the banner as is and then 1 inch of tape. I start about the middle of the banner and fold up the edge of the banner media to the outer edge of the tape (and marked line). I just touch the edge enough to stay put and contine all the way down. Then come back and tack the edge further till the seam is flat.

What the extra 1/8" does is it give space for air to release and will not trap in air bubbles in the hem.