• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Screen printing question

Silver Star DC

Hey guys, I have a question about a job that I have been asked to quote.
This company has asked me to price around 40 shirts, with 5 colors on the front and 3 colors for the back. I'm still kind of new to screen printing but I am able to do multiple color jobs. My question is this...would this job be better as a 5 color job or would the 4 color process be better? I am open to any suggestions on this. I think the client will freak out when I price the shirts and set-up charge for this job. Any help is greatly appreciated.

Attachments

• Capture.JPG
    Capture.JPG
    36.2 KB · Views: 281

reQ

4 color process on dark shirts not always a good idea, you will need a white under base anyways. Just do it as a 5 color set up. If they don't wanna pay - offer them do simplify & make it 2-3 color job

Dennis422

5 colors front and 3 on the back on 40 shirts.
To be honest, I would not touch that unless they get up to at least 60 pieces.

I have a 12 piece per color minimum. (Looking at the side with the most colors)

And no to process, you would need white underbase as already said, but you would also need someone to separate that for you, which also costs money.

Good luck

reQ

5 colors front and 3 on the back on 40 shirts.
To be honest, I would not touch that unless they get up to at least 60 pieces.

I have a 12 piece per color minimum. (Looking at the side with the most colors)

And no to process, you would need white underbase as already said, but you would also need someone to separate that for you, which also costs money.

Good luck

Separation Studio software does pretty decent job (i don't do much color simulations but when i need it, it works)