• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Screen Printing Start Up

muledalton

I'm looking at investing into screen printing equipment. I'm a school teacher and have the inside track into the schools PE, sports, orginazation shirts, etc. Looks like the money would be too good to pass up. I've looked at a few websites and wanted advice on companies you've had success with. I'm planning on buying a 4-color 1 station press (I don't know why i would need to 2 stations if I'm by myself), flash dryer, exposure light unit, and printer (the printer is what I'm really not sure about). Obviously I will have to buy all the supplies as well. I've looked at Ryonet and would like any other suggestions you may have.

Thanks, Darrin

TheSnowman

Yea, you don't wanna do that. You can sub them out to I-45 Signs, and still make good money, and you don't deal w/ all the "crap" that comes w/ screen printing.

briankb

Premium Subscriber
I purchased a 4 color 1 station "magnet" press from Ryonet over 6 years ago. It's a POS. They've upgraded since but it's still not that great. If you are serious get a 4-1 (4 color 1 station) or 6-2 (6 color 2 station) from http://vastex.com/index2.html it's more money but their machines are pretty solid. I was just at the SGIA show where they had their V1000 press and other machines.

One reason you may want a 2 station press even if you are running solo is speed. While one color is being "flashed" you can print another shirt. when it's done pull the 1st one back and print the 2nd color. I'm looking at spending about $5k to a get a 6-4 press, 110v conveyer dryer, and exposure unit from Vastek in the next week.