• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Seal 62S - Problem Laminating long vinyl prints

MikeyG

Hi there!
I'm relatively new to printing vinyl for signage, and I'm having problems laminating long prints without getting wrinkling!
I'm using a Seal 62S laminator to laminate Hexis VL3000 monomeric vinyl (which has been printed using an HPL26500(L260) latex printer) with Hexis V650 monomeric laminate.

Every time I laminate something over a couple of metres in length (sometimes even less!) I get the dreaded wrinkling of the print towards the middle.

I've tried lowering and increasing the roller pressure, but still get the wrinkles!
I"m sure there must be a way to feed long prints in from the roller that is underneath the in-feed table? I can't seem to find a guide for using that one anywhere...

Can anyone talk me through what I SHOULD be doing, or direct me towards an online guide?

I've got a 30m roll to laminate soon, and frankly, I'm having sleepless nights worrying about it!!

Thanks in advance!

rjssigns

We run an RS and used to have "issues".
One thing you must have is a leading edge absolutely square to the sides of the material. A freehand cut edge will cause nothing but grief.
Another is to get it fed in square and flat.
Many issues are caused by the initial feed.

For short runs I put my fingers to the left and right margins and put a slight tension on the material so it lays flat. On longer runs I put two layers of two inch masking tape on the leading edge and one underneath.(again on a dead straight edge) The masking tape will make the material flat.