• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Segmenting cut files on long print/cut runs

jpena9137

I am new to printing, so pardon me if I am not using the right terms or if I am overlooking something obvious. I am on the trial of ONYX 11 printing on a HP L260. What I would like to do is pre-setup a large contour cut vinyl job to print overnight, however, I don't believe that I want to have the job generate one enormously long cut file.

It would seem to me that it would be common that users would want to segment the contour cut files so that the final product would be a large roll of printed decals that are separated approximately every 6 feet. Then the user could take the finished roll and cut off each section to run through the cutter in order to avoid loosing accuracy because of excessive length.

My understanding at this point is that I would have to send each section to the printer separately and would require some baby-sitting to start the next segment after the previous was finished.

Since I haven't purchased a RIP yet, I am wondering if this is possible to do in ONYX or any other RIP software. It seems like this feature should be there somewhere and I am just overlooking how to do it. Any advice would be appreciated.

bob

It's better to have two hands than one glove.
While I have no idea about the capabilities of Onyx, this sort of thing is done all of the time in Flexi. I try never to print a page of decals longer than 48". All you do in Flexi is send the first page and tell Production manager not to delete it when done. Then just keep printing and cutting that same page over and over until you're done.

It would not be unreasonable to expect Onyx would have a similar feature.

Hotspur

Onyx can help you achieve this: