• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

setting up the rip to print

emeraldImages

Ok let me start off by saying I've been doing this for 2 years. just doing signs and alot of small wraps. nothign that I had to make multi panels for. the only wraps on autos I've installed have been outsourced threw a friend. My question is Where can I find some information on once I've finshed the design I can break it down into panels and set it up to rip and print.I've held off on doing my truck since the little peice of info I was missing. whoops :banghead: so if you can point me in some direction that would be great.

JeremySI

no clue here as i dont do that stuff... but im sure it would help if you let people know what programs you are using so they can give you better directions

4R Graphics

All you need to do is in photoshop slice up the image to the sizes you need (based on the panel direction and the size of your printer) dont forget when slicing up the image to add an overlap for install. You can use the slice tool in photoshop. What I do is use the slice tool in photoshop to slice the image up with the overlap then I select with the marquee tool each slice and save them as individual pictures ( the slice tool is for websites creating hot spots so it often saves in the wrong format or low quality that is why I use the marquee tool to actually save the files but use the slice tool to cut the image up) then send them to the rip no need for the rip to do anything but rip and print.

Good Luck.

4R Graphics

The method I stated above will work for anyone using any rip as long as you use photoshop for design.
I have a Mimaki and use flexi so I have no idea about versaworks but like I said fallow my method above and versaworks only has to rip and print.