• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Shop layout

Twincam 09

Hi everyone new to the forum hailing from ireland.have just got keys today to my new 1st floor commercial unit that i have decided to set up in.im pretty new to sign making only been at it 6 months or so but with very little space at home iv decided to take on this unit as i got it at a good price per month.im small time compared to some of you bigger shops im sure....so iv got this big open space now and am looking for some ideas on layouts
I have a sp300i an a 24in plotter along with my graphics computer 1 heat press a number plate roller and a 1600mm manual laminator/mounter any suggestions welcome its a single span unit approx 6metres wide by 15metres long

Boudica

Back to "educational purposes"
Welcome, and congratulations on your new space! I'm afraid I have no profound advice on your set-up other than to consider your production system and arrange things according to your flow. Good luck!

Dan360

We went through a few iterations, measuring your equipment and mocking up a layout in illustrator is helpful before moving stuff around. Mainly think about workflow and what makes the most sense in terms of efficiency and comfort. Avoid wasted space, think about future additions in equipment or employees. You'll also find some things work in theory but not so much in practice. I believe in fine tuning/improving what you can after trying it out for a while. I put all our tables on wheels so we can make a 30+ foot long workspace if we ever need to, great if you have the room for something like that.

Not sure what kind of power the printer needs, but if you don't need anything special then you're not really committed to anything.

iPrintStuff

Prints stuff