• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Shopping for new canvas printer to replace / supplement existing HPZ6100 - advice?

RoCo

Hi everyone,
We have an artist client we've been working with for several years who has been happy with our canvas prints from a old HP Z6100. He's been ordering 100 at a pop for a while, but recently placed an extremely large order for a few thousand. Great news for us and we're very excited, but it also creates a bit of a dilemma:

Do we buy one of the new HP Z-series photo printers to maintain the consistency / look that he's accustomed to or "look to the future" with a new HP latex 360 that would also take over for our aging (though still quite capable Roland SC-545EX print/cut?

I have some experience with the HP latex 360 and that would be my vote, my only hesitation is how different the latex ink will look on canvas as compared to the Z6100 inks. Plus, he may well be fine with any differences in appearance.

Any thoughts and input is appreciated - thanks!

danno

Why not take a print for this customer and test it on the new hp 360 and let him help be the judge. If you are happy and he is happy, then everybody is happy.

Andriy

If you have a lot of fine detail in his canvas prints then I would just get the 6800 to go with it, L360s have this graininess when you have something very small (but then again it is canvas with its own texture).
If it's a generalized image that you are stepping away from then latex will work :) I personally have some color consistency issues with my 360 printers but nobody else seems to.

RoCo

Why not take a print for this customer and test it on the new hp 360 and let him help be the judge. If you are happy and he is happy, then everybody is happy.