• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Need Help Sign Engineering

kcollinsdesign

Old member
Our "authority having jurisdiction" (local building inspector) is now requiring engineer stamped drawing for just about anything we install in our city. They asked for engineering drawings to attach a temnporary banner to an exterior wall (?!). This seems to be a new trend. I've been designing and installing signs for 35 years, and while we usually consult with engineers for big projects (large multi-tenent signs, billboards, etc.), these new requirements are presenting yet another hurdle that needs to be crossed. I understand the need for this, and I am willing to comply (as long as it is a level playing field). What kind of experience do any of you have with working with engineering firms, and can you recommend any (we are in Illinois). Thanks in advance!

Notarealsignguy

Arial - it's almost helvetica
its just an easier way to “clean up” the signs without changing the ordinance and risking lawsuits that can come with it.

signage

I can see there needing an engineered stamp if the banner is attached to a wall perpendicular to the wall,stretching to another anchor point. Just mounted to a wall (flat against the wall) not so much, unless the building is really old and has not been kept in good condition. JM02c

Gino

Premium Subscriber