Welcome To Signs101.com: Largest Forum for Signmaking Professionals

Signs101.com: Largest Forum for Signmaking Professionals is the LARGEST online community & discussion forum for professional sign-makers and graphic designers.

1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Sign Gold Question...

Discussion in 'Vinyl' started by NewSignmaker, May 17, 2011.

1. NewSignmaker

NewSignmaker Member

Sep 28, 2006
    Downs, ks
    I have a job to letter a local city police car. The badge and a small star/stripe on the car will be done in the 22kt sign gold. I have never used this material before. The catalog says it needs to be edge sealed. I was thinking about putting a layer of 751 clear over the entire badge overlapping 1/4 inch. Will this be sufficient to edge seal it?

The police officer told me the last shop that lettered it had trouble with the badge sticking until they put a layer of regular vinyl down and then the sign gold on top of it. Has anyone else had this trouble? Any suggestions for cutting and/or working with the sign gold material?

Thanks!

Tags:
  2. wrapworld2

wrapworld2 Member

Apr 5, 2011
    Cookeville, TN
    I do lots of police cars fire engines ambulances and emergency equipment ....... I personally like to use a background color of usually black behind all my 22 kt-
    24kt GOLD....... seems to work out a lot better when applying and uninstalling after years of being on. lot less issues just be easy with the gold.... really easy to mess it up........ use really good transfer tape as well less likely for damage. you will be glad you used a background color directly to surface, especially when or if you take it off.....
    and reflective....... well thats a whole different problem in its self.....lol good luck

3. Pat Whatley

Pat Whatley Major Contributor

Sep 29, 2003
    Wetumpka, AL