• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

sign shop from home

cjsigns707

hey all, just wanted to know if anyone out there operates a home based sign shop business and how is that working.....we deliver all the products and may meet at their office or local starbucks....
we had a retail location for 10 years but have sized down.....trying to reinvent our business model....

banditsigns

I have been working out of my home for about 2 1/2 years now. I know a lot of people have told me to stay small....less headache, less overhead. I have thought about getting a building at a good location, but I have not seen the need. Sometimes I wish it wasn't in my basement. Seems I can't get away, but yet it is very convenient to be here to take my son to school etc. I have a 54" versacamm, and laminator all in my basement. There are times when I wish I could have something better, but my customers really appreciate that I come to there place and do the installs. I am leaving for a 2 week vacation to the Florida Keys this Friday, and I don't think that would be possible with a store front....

legacyborn

I did a home based for a couple of years. I was ignorant of proper pricing (due to ignorance on the part of my "partner") and we barely made ends meet. However, done right, I think it can be lucrative. Although it limits your ability to look "professional" to clients as you don't have an office address or a place they can go. Also on numerous occasions we had clients show up at the home without notice, my partner didn't see a problem with this (his house) but if you give out your address you may run into that.