• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Sign Shop in Winter

toucan_graphics

A question for the northern sign shops... This is my first year in business.
What is the best way to get through your first winter as a sign shop? Business has come to a screeching halt since our first accumulative snowfall.
How can I drum up business during the slow season?

Geary

"Slow season"? In 35 years.... I don't think I've ever seen a slow season in the winter. And I've lived in a few cold states like Colorado and Washington. The holidays usually bring sign business in because all the stores are trying to spruce up for sales. :wink:

~Gear

skyhigh

My first year was the same...screeching halt. The second year, jobs trickled in and I kept busy. The third year, things never slowed down a bit. The last couple winters I have been so busy I had to buy a snowblower cause I didn't have time to shovel.:Big Laugh
Try looking for the worst signs in town, then stop in and introduce yourself.

Marlene

Since Vermont has two nice days a year, no one here can stop doing business because of the cold. Installs in the ground are harder to do, but life goes on. The best way I can think of is to make sure that you build a customer list that you can call on when things get slow. It's a good time to check in with people to see how they are doing. When you get a new customer, try to be their one stop for all their business needs. Then you can call to see if they need business cards or stuff like that. A lot of times, your customer will be needing something, but they just haven't gotten around to giving you a call so it's a good way to keep in touch with them and pick up some work.

James Chrimes