• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

sign software best bang on low budget

tholme1

Just wondering what software will serve me best for vinyl cutting My budget would b in the $400 range and I am fairly new to the Gig. I have Corel draw 9 and use artcut to send to cutter. I can not make registration marks with artcut to make a 2 color graphic or sign so just lookin 4 advice:Canada:

GVP

If you're just trying to line up two or more colors of vinyl, you don't need any fancy registration marks. Just pop a couple or four small squares or circles on your page just outside of the main image area, and select them with each color when you cut. Then it's just a case of lining up the squares or circles so they fall exactly on top of each other, thus ensuring perfect registration between colors. After removing the last mask, you can just peel them off and discard, having done their job. You can even cut a small piece out of the mask where the dots are so you can easily see when they line up with the one underneath.

royster13

If you stack registration marks for each color on top of each other, and then "cut by color" it will pick what ever colour you are cutting....

tholme1

thanx so much for the input I will try it out and c what i can do, But I will still need better software then they Artcut that I am useing as it is very limited

James Burke

Being a grandpa is more fun than working
You gotta be careful, but there are some good deals on Ebay once in a while. A friend of mine found a package of SignLab 7.0 this past spring for $300...complete with the extra artwork / fonts CD and USB dongle. It loaded and works flawlessly.

I paid nearly $1,200 for mine, back when it first came out.