Welcome To Signs101.com: Largest Forum for Signmaking Professionals

Signs101.com: Largest Forum for Signmaking Professionals is the LARGEST online community & discussion forum for professional sign-makers and graphic designers.

1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

sign software best bang on low budget

Discussion in 'General Software' started by tholme1, Aug 11, 2012.

1. tholme1

tholme1 New Member

Oct 17, 2011
    Just wondering what software will serve me best for vinyl cutting My budget would b in the $400 range and I am fairly new to the Gig. I have Corel draw 9 and use artcut to send to cutter. I can not make registration marks with artcut to make a 2 color graphic or sign so just lookin 4 advice:Canada:

Tags:
  2. GVP

GVP Active Member

Nov 11, 2005
    Swift Current, SK
    If you're just trying to line up two or more colors of vinyl, you don't need any fancy registration marks. Just pop a couple or four small squares or circles on your page just outside of the main image area, and select them with each color when you cut. Then it's just a case of lining up the squares or circles so they fall exactly on top of each other, thus ensuring perfect registration between colors. After removing the last mask, you can just peel them off and discard, having done their job. You can even cut a small piece out of the mask where the dots are so you can easily see when they line up with the one underneath.

3. royster13

royster13 Very Active Member

Apr 3, 2009
    Montrose BC
    If you stack registration marks for each color on top of each other, and then "cut by color" it will pick what ever colour you are cutting....

4. tholme1

tholme1 New Member

Oct 17, 2011
    thanx so much for the input I will try it out and c what i can do, But I will still need better software then they Artcut that I am useing as it is very limited

5. James Burke