• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Skewing, how to prevent it on a Royal Sovereign

depps74

I am new to laminating. I just got a Royal Sovereign and we've done a few jobs but nothing bigger than 5-6 foot long. I have a big job coming up in which I need to laminate 40'. I am clueless as to how to keep it from skewing. In a print this size the print is at a $$$ value and time so the pressure is really on to get it right. On my previous prints that were small I got a slight skew that was not a problem because of the short length. However if it were a longer job eventually the skew of the laminate would fall off the print.

My question is how exactly do I avoid this? What best practices are there to ensure that the material runs straight? Are there ends for cores that keep the material aligned?

My specs are I use a Royal Sovereign 54" laminator using a matte or gloss lam onto 3M Ij35c or RadGraphix adhesive vinyl.

My routine, I print from a 54" HP latex 315 onto a 60" core. I maximize the print space using all availble width. (maybe I should have more margins?) I take that roll and feed it into the RS with the guard rails kissing the edge of the print material. I feed in about 10" of blank and try to visually see that it is running straight.

rjssigns

Some time ago I wrote a lengthy post regarding this. Biggest thing to ensure straight tracking is to physically verify your lead edge is PERFECTLY perpendicular to the edge of material. If you have to trim to get it square trim it. Without verifying that seemingly insignificant thing you'll have nothing but headaches. Then you have to make sure you feed it into the nip point perfectly square and flat.