• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

software for a new person

Hello,
I own a frame shop in Cleveland ,Ohio ( Go Cavs!) I used to be a display carpenter (union) and we had sign painters union 639 in our shop. Would like to find some software out there for someone new , not too complicated. Need it for use on a Mac. Is there a brand of software that is out there I could use with a free trial before I buy and is there one that is overall preferred? Would like to make signs with pictures and text. Thank You.
Steve

OldPaint

NO COREL FOR MAC........
GET INKSCAPE........ it a linux based open source program. ITS FREE..........
and works on macs..

WildWestDesigns

At one time I have messed with all 3 mentioned and some that haven't been (Xara Xtreme being a fav of mine (on Linux)).

I still have a copy of DRAW X6 that interfaces with my digitizing program, never really bother to install it. My experience stopped with X5 (not trying to say that it's a bad program, just mentioning what I do). Unless you are able to find, install and run Corel 9, you aren't going to be able to get it to run "natively" on the Mac.

That leaves 2 that were mentioned.

Inkscape is free period and Adobe should still have a 30 day trial, but I don't use their CC programs, so I don't know if that still applies to them or not.

As much as I like and advocate FOSS, I go with is more efficient for my business.

Inkscape is a decent program, that may be more then enough for your needs, but I have known it to be more powerful then Ai/DRAW in some respects, but then really being lacking in others. That's my experience, other's mileage may vary.