• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Software stupor

Brigg

Hi everyone
I am new to the sign making world and have all of my equipment to get started and I bought CorelDrawx4 as my main software. Wow, you have to be a genius to figure that program out. I have been searching for a more user friendly package for a beginner. I have had several people tell me that the Ultra Flex Express is a very good program. We have a Graphtec 5000-60 cutter and also are using the Epson 1400 wide format print system.
If anyone has experience with the Ultra Flex software let me know how you like it and the ease of use on it. Thanks so much. It is great to be on here.

Duane Briggeman:wavingflag:

BobM

Welcome from Cape of Cod. My advice, find someone local who uses it and pay them to work thru a few jobs with you. Somehow real time direction sticks better than reading manuals and trying to learn one action at a time. The Corel tutorials avaliable free on line are good, but you need at least a few of the basics first to use a foundation. Good luck, you'll get there.

jiarby

Corel is a great package... nothing wrong with it.

Like everything in life.... you gotta be good at what you do. Don't ask for easier stuff to do, get good at the hard stuff!

Steve G.

I have a version of ultra flex for sale.
It works fine to cut and is a basic design program.
http://www.signs101.com/forums/showthread.php?t=32818

Corel is great, try and find someone to teach you the basics. Pay them, it will save a lot of time.
I also love Flexi, illustrator and photo shop, i use them all.
I learned on corel first then went to flexi for cutting.