• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Starting a sign installation company

That's A Wrap!

Hello everyone! I have been working at a national sign franchise for almost ten years now and i'm in the process of starting my own sign installation and wrap company. I'm very excited to finally be working for myself and have the ability to do things my way (the right way), and experiment with different materials and methods. I do have many questions though, and was hoping for a little advice fron the experts.

1. I have performed thousands of installations over the years for my employer, but only a couple outside of work. I recently asked to use some of the photos of my installations to put in my portfolio, only to be turned down by the boss man. I really hope to continue to do installations for my employer through my company after my departure, so I don't want to piss him off. Has anyone been in a situation like this? What was your outcome?

2. I hope to install signs for many of the local sign shops, but will they let me use pics of the job? I hope to use pics of all of my installations, but i don't want to upset any clinets. Is it common practice for installers to use pics with a disclosure about who manufactured the sign?