• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Suggestions for Sign Material

Moonlight

Good Afternoon from SNOWY Northern Michigan!!

I'm new to the Sign World. I have been helping a buddy for years, and now started my own company. Most of my work will be for the Motocross Track that another buddy of mine is building. I have several signs for Outdoor Use there.

I was wondering what the best material would be? I plan to paint the sign material and then apply Vinyl Lettering & Graphics. I have been told to use "1/2" Signboard" But the places that I am calling are acting like I am speaking some foreign language. I am in a rural area so the places that I can go look at material is VERY limited!

THANX for the help!

Rich
Moonlight Graphics

J Hill Designs

MDO = signply

might consider dibond or equivalent tho - comes prepainted in some standard colors, and is lighter

oh and welcome from cali :thumb:

Gino

Premium Subscriber
Welcome from PA................................

Moonlight.... that was an old dog of mine's name.

Moonlight

THANX guys! :thankyou:

Is MDO something that I can get localy, like at Home Depot / Lowes ? Or do I have to order from a supplier?

Thanx again!

Rich
:wavingflag:

J Hill Designs

Usually suppliers, but certain hardwood/specialty stores might have it -- FYI MDO stands for medium density overlay...might help you find it...

:thumb:

J Hill Designs

Yeah +1 to pat's post, but there are a few hardwood places in my town that carry ACTUAL MDO sign ply - usually just resin/resin (unprimed etc) but still MDO nonetheless

WrapperX

MDO, Dibond/Polymetal would be my 2 cents. Dibond will be more expensive I think, but will be lighter and I would bet last longer.