• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Summa Contour on winplot vs flexi 19 Opinions

Wildgoose

So I have resurrected an old Gerber Edge printer and am working on a decent workflow. I also got a gerber envision plotter to mate to the edge and have successfully printed and cut through Flexi 19 and these two machines. I have my trusty D75R cutter with OPUS and flexi seems capable of outputting to it. I would MUCH rather use my Summa than the gerber. (no offense to gerber lovers but ya got no clue what you're missing) I have not have time to give it a whirl yet due to the Christmas rush bust I was looking at it last night at midnight trying to determine if Fexi will feed the OPUS info correctly. I am an Illustrator user primarily and FLexi has a lot of stuff going on that I haven't learned yet. I read several posts in the Flexi section but none seemed to answer what I want to know

My real question for those who may have some actual experience is am better off spending the time working through Flexi production manager for both steps or would it work out better to output the file then swap over to winplot? I have no preference just don't want to spend the next 2 nights monkeying around only to discover that I went the wrong direction and have wasted my time.

I don't even use winplot for my regular cutting, I have a dongle for SignCut Pro 1 and just cut regular AI files for most of my HTV and sign vinyl work. It has some contour cut options but not ones that will utilize the OPUS. When I first got the cutter I messed around with some test projects so I would understand the OPUS and winplot worked fine but I don't like it for everyday cutting compared to SignCut. I have never had a printer until now and it didn't matter.