• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Super fine letters NOT made of vinyl..

fine point

Hi all.
I am a newbie, so please go easy on me.

I went to a Brooklyn Museum of Art today and saw texts on the walls look like cut vinyl but with much finer lines.

They had CAD cut vinyls for exhibition titles and bigger letters but for smaller letters, they used this unknown (to me) medium.

-They look like directly printed on the walls
-Some of the lines are less than 1mm wide.
-Extremely clean
-It's flat to touch but not painted (some letters were peeled and tunneled).

Does anyone know what I am talking about?

Thanks!

fine point

Thanks JB,
Thermal Kiss Cutting still uses vinyls, right?
The texts at the museum didn't feel like any vinyls I know of... Also Die cut seems over kill for small info texts for date of art work and such.

FP

fine point

Hi Moze
I thought of screen printing too, but some of the letters were peeled like vinyls.
I touched it and it felt so light as if it were made of paper. I have no clue.

SignosaurusRex

I thought about screen print as well but you mentioned 'tunneling and peeling'...If it is black, it may possibly be Dry Transfer Type. I know some places still actually have & sell it,.... and some shops around (including myself) still have some and use it for specialty projects.

I checked...and sure enough is still available......http://www.pcbsupplies.com/servlet/the-614/Dry-Transfer-Lettering/Detail
If you do a little further searching you may find other brands and smaller sizes available. Typically old stock can be very brittle and have little to no adhesive quality left rendering it useless.

fine point