• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Throwing myself to the wolves

Sticky Signs

Ok, so I'm not a designer and I have never claimed to be, however once in a while someone asks me to do something for them. In this case, my friend asked for a simple logo design and he provided me with the basic idea. IE - tailpipe with flames. So, in trade for a few beers, I agreed to try and help him out.
I'm posting this to see what my peers think and to get some ideas as to what can be done to improve upon. Don't worry, I've got thick skin so bring it on.
Cheers to more beers!

Attachments

• logo ideas2.jpg
    logo ideas2.jpg
    26.4 KB · Views: 143

Marlene

if the business was a motorcycle shop, that would be a cool direction to go. since it's a lighting and electrical company for movies and TV, why on earth would you have a tailpipe blowing fire????? it would be like having a burger or a cake or a pair of shoes. it just doesn't fit the type of business that it is and looks really odd because of that.

Marlene

he's a motorcycle geek is fine and dandy but putting that into a logo is a bad idea as it has nothing to do with what he does. I see this a lot with customer's as they "like" something that has nothing to do with anything about their business. it's an ego thing and self serving. designs are not for the customer, they are for the customer's customers.

my comment is not specific to your design. you are dealing with a company that is marketing it's services to an industry that has professionally trained graphics people this is a situation where it would be in the companies best interest to hire someone who has the skills to represent them professionally.