• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Topcoat for silverleaf?

Blondie

I'm new to gilding and am doing a (genuine) silver leaf project on a vehicle. What kind of topcoat do I use for exterior applications? Do I apply topcoat before or after outlining (using 1shot lettering enamels)? And if I want to paint over (add shadow or highlights to) the silverleaf...do it before or after topcoating with sealer?

Billct2

There are several options for topcoating, 1shot clear, Marine Clear and Automotive Clear are three possibilities. Depending on the project , you can do all the work then topcoat or you could do the leaf, top coat and then add the paint, which could also be topcoated, or another coat over the whole thing.
This is one of those projects that I would do a test piece first. I don't do these often enough to be sure everything is compatible anymore, products keep getting changed.
Another resource would br Mike Jackson's hand lettering forum.

Blondie

Thank you for the reply! I need a clear that can be brushed on as this is being lettered, with lots of scrollwork. I've already done some test samples. 1 Shot Super Gloss Tinting Clear is yellow...right out of the can (soooo glad I tested). I also have Rolco Acrylic Topcoat (crystal clear) but don't know if it's appropriate for exterior applications, or if it's compatible with lettering enamels.

SignosaurusRex