• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Track Battle: Take up System Versus Printer

kirkbedtelyon

I'm new to takeup systems - Yes, 5 years of running to the printer every 10 minutes is over (thank God)!

My question: If your takeup system tracks the vinyl to the left or right will it cause the print to track in that direction as well or will the printer's pressure rollers win the battle and just buckel the material on the take up roller?

bob

It's better to have two hands than one glove.
I'm new to takeup systems - Yes, 5 years of running to the printer every 10 minutes is over (thank God)!

My question: If your takeup system tracks the vinyl to the left or right will it cause the print to track in that direction as well or will the printer's pressure rollers win the battle and just buckel the material on the take up roller?

Yes. Any take up system that puts tension on the media is just something else that will skew that media.

The best take up system is one that does not require media tension. Like the old Mutoh Faclon take up system. The system on the ValueJet merely adds Yet Another reason for things to go wrong. I dismantled the take up tackle on my ValueJet and made a stand to hold the roller about the height of the bottom of the platen.. I set this in front of the printer and, yes, every few minutes, manually roll up the print. At least it comes out straight and I don't have to get down on the floor to set it up. I'm seriously considering adding a motor and a sensor to make it fully automatic. Not a big deal to do.

jmb474