• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Need Help Vertical Banding on FB500

We have been noticing a vertical banding on our printing lately on our HP FB500. Specifically on large darker colored sections. (see attached photos)
We have tried re-leveling the printer (at the advice of an HP tech)
we have tried checking the belt fans and cleaning the belt thinking its not holding down the sub-straight on that side. The banding only seems to happen on the user side of the prints.
I'm still learning these printers and it would be a great help if anyone has had this issue and how they resolved it.

Charles

Attachments

• IMG_6210.JPG
    IMG_6210.JPG
    1 MB · Views: 576
  • IMG_6213.JPG
    IMG_6213.JPG
    156.3 KB · Views: 393

DerbyCitySignGuy

Looks like a starvation issue. Not super familiar with the FB500, but my guess is the subtank can't fill quickly enough and by the time it gets to the end of the media, the head isn't getting enough ink from the subtank.

flyplainsdrifta

check your rail strips for wear on that side. ive heard of people wearing user side down a bit faster on smaller one off stuff if thats all theyre doing. also see if you can feel around your carraige wheels for binding or flat spots.

Starting to lean on the side of the belt. there are some rough patches on the back of the belt and seemed kinda loose. Tightened the belt, seems like its improved but we are looking at the pulleys on the ends now. hard to tell but look like they might have a little wobble to them and can see the belt raising and lowering ever so slightly as it tracks.

CharlieA

We have been noticing a vertical banding on our printing lately on our HP FB500. Specifically on large darker colored sections. (see attached photos)