Welcome To Signs101.com: Largest Forum for Signmaking Professionals

Signs101.com: Largest Forum for Signmaking Professionals is the LARGEST online community & discussion forum for professional sign-makers and graphic designers.

1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

News Via Executive Order, Adobe / Venezuela

Discussion in 'Business Management' started by ColorCrest, Oct 11, 2019.

1. WildWestDesigns

WildWestDesigns Major Contributor

Sep 27, 2010
    Mid TN
    Yep, it happens 2 months after that order was put into effect.

This also highlights the joys of a subscription based system.

Now, I'm no lawyer and maybe that 2 months is just what it takes for somethings to work it's way through the system.

I, however, would not be happy about this and just another reason why not to go the subscription route (if able to go elsewhere).

• Agree Agree x 1
  2. shoresigns

shoresigns Very Active Member

Nov 1, 2011
    Vancouver, BC
    Yes, why are they only implementing this now if the sanction took effect in August? Not only that, they're still giving Venezuelan customers a couple more weeks of service before they shut down all accounts.

The bigger question though, is why is Adobe shutting down all Venezuelan accounts, when the sanctions only apply to Venezuelan government entities? I'm sure some overly cautious lawyers and a cost-benefit analysis were involved, but it's still bullshit to cut off the entire country. A lot of people in Venezuela depend on Adobe software for their jobs.

3. BIG EASY DOES IT

BIG EASY DOES IT Very Active Member

Mar 14, 2011
    CA
    They are just going to download pirated software and use that until it opens again. Better make sure all your files are legacy compatible.

4. WildWestDesigns

Sep 27, 2010
    Mid TN
    Is MS doing the same thing?