• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Vinyl Cutter help??

justin_2005

Hi im in the process of buying a vinyl cutter. Im new to this so any info would be appreicated..Im wanting to stay around 1000 dollars for the cutter and software..What kinda vinyl cutter would u recomend..What all will a vinyl cutter do.Decals?Banners?signs?business cards?

gvgraphics

Welcome.

For starters it is going to be hard to start up with only a grand. You will want a quality machine like Roland, Summa, or GRAPHTEC. (I'm not saying what one I have or like). You can buy the cheaper machines but as the old adage goes' "You get what you pay for". So be careful.
Now for the rest of your question. Signs, decals, vinyl lettered banners -Yes!
Business Cards - NO! BC's are printed on and offset printing press most of the time. This is an item you can sell, we do, but it is out sourced.

Good luck in your new adventure.

And you will also benefit from buying a Big Squeegee from Signs by Dale. Link on the bottom of this page.
(Had to sneak it it there)

justin_2005

Thanks for the help..How is the software for these things..Are they user friendly? What makes a vinyl cutter differ from each other.. THANKS

Ken

Hi Justin.
Welcome to S101.
You could go with a Roland Stika machine within that budget.
I quickly out-grew that and went with a 24 " cutter. In my case a creation CT630. That should still be within your budget. If you have a choice use the WinPCsign software. With a 24" machine you can do almost unlimited vinyl sign work, banners. There are other models that others may ,justifiably recommend. You could design business cards but not produce them with a cutter. Yes, you can do decals but small decals are a problem.