• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Question VJ1304:empty ink lines prior to installing cleaning carts?

Rayd8

hi all,
Since i'm new to VJ's i was windering if there is a procedure to install solvent cleaning carts? Do i need to empty the inklines or simply install the cleaningcarts and do some powercleanings? Ps: i think the cleaningcarts dont have any smartcards with them(sorry they haven't arrived yet)?
Thx for any input
Thierry

FatCat

Typically, you only use the cleaning carts when you are doing a purge on an operational printer to prep it for storage or a long distance move. You really don't use them to "clean" the printer...?

Rayd8

well i think one of the black ink channels' nozzles are ca. 30-40% clogged, i tried soaking the capping top but even after several soaking-nights and power cleans she's still clogged, so i was wondering in how far putting such a cart and printing some feet of pure black would help... Thx FatCat :)

Thierry

FatCat

If you go through and do a search, there are threads posted on some ideas on how you "might" clear that. However, if they have been plugged for a long time, might be that they can never be recovered and a new head is the only fix for the problem.

If you find you are not making any headway with the issue, you can fill a syringe with cleaning solvent and attach a flex line to the tip of the syringe. Then pop of the black dampers and CAREFULLY & GENTLY try to push little cleaning solution into the black channels and leave it sit for a few hours. IF you start getting nozzles back, keep going... I would only suggest this as a last resort if you can't get them cleared by other methods because if you apply too much pressure from the syringe you could possibly blow out the head.

Rayd8

hi Sean/FatCat,