• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Wanting to buy a printer!!!

mrobbins

Hey guys, I am wanting to buy a printer. Definately something used because 6-8k is just not an option as of right now. This is for me only and would upgrade before trying to sell or even demonstrating my work. This is strictly for the learning curve. I am new to vinyl printing but I have done a lot of reading on the various types of inks and what not. Every time I find a printer on craigslist or ebay, I do searches on them and get the same result. Either printing on paper only, or indoor ink only. But these are also amazing deals at 500-1000 dollars for a 24" printer!! I understand the wf1100 is a pretty good price, but I really would like to have the 24". Most of what I find are designjets and others like that. But according to other forums, some say the designjets work, others say no. So how am I going to find or be able to tell what will or wont work for me? Thanks in advance for any replies!!

Flame

Let me be the first to say. Not going to happen. 6-8K is CHEAP!!! DIRT cheap. 500-1000, wrong business man. Your luck you'll end up with an encad chroma that will make you want to pull your hair out. Even buying a 4 year old Sp300 for around $6K is taking a risk, as you have no idea what condition the heads are in, what kind of maintenance it's had, etc.

This is not like buying a car, if something breaks, you can't drop it off at a local mechanics. You'll have to hire a guy to come to you at over $100 an hour to fix it, and if you put off fixing a faulty machine for a week or two, BAM, your heads are dead and you'll essentially have a very expensive paperweight.