• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Waterbase paint, Ronan Aquacoat, and then some

redcanary01

Hi everyone,

I'm a newb sign painter although I have been graphic designer with my own little firm for a long time doing mostly branding and exhibit design, before that I was an interior house painter through college and a bit after. I LOVE typography and can spend all day drawing letters. Recently, I have been doing more and more sign painting and trying to spend more time away from designing on my computer (for health reasons as well as personal, but I wont get into that)--which has been working great. I love the work and re-training my hands to work for themselves.

I've been working with mostly One Shot on MDO and have read enough on the forum to know most peoples general opinions on that material and the death of that particular paint. Since I am relatively new, I really don't have expectations around how a paint should behave so it's been working out okay and I'm still having a good time.

So here's the deal. I'm loving this but my husband and I are also trying to have a kid and I can't really build a career around solvents if that's going to happen! Also, being in California, it's only a matter of time before they outlaw everything and "green" sells...so in anticipation I want to start exploring some waterbase options sooner than later.

I've heard people say good things about the Ronan Aquacoat line and am wondering about any others? Any words of wisdom or caution out there? ie, should I always UV clear over it for exterior? Does any one know if they have a sample kit? I tried calling but no one was in the office I guess.