• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Question What Equipment Do I Need for This

USAFS

I have been trying to figure out what equipment is needed to create Hazardous Material Placards. I have inquired with numerous sign shops as well as hazardous material placard producers, over the past several years. However I am still no closer to knowing what I need now, as the day I started searching.

I have been distributing these hazmat placards for about 15 years now. Business has picked up substantially and I am able to afford some printing equipment. However I have no idea exactly what equipment is needed. The current hazardous material placard producers are keeping this a very tight trade secret, and no one else seems to know.

The Hazardous Material Placards are printed on square cut adhesive vinyl, printed on one side, These measure 10.75" x 10.75" and are laminated. There are several designs, but most are one color, some are two.

I have a small office and am looking for something that can handle about 2,500 placards at a time (per design). I am not sure how these placards are cut, and moreover how they are laminated. I assume I will need 3 machines - printer, cutter/trimmer, and a laminator? Is there a machine that can cut the process down a step or two?

Any suggestions on what basic equipment I will need? Or any equipment in particular, like an exact make/model? Any help will be greatly appreciated. :)

Gino

Premium Subscriber
How do you know they are laminated ?? Can you actually peel a top layer off ?? At that quantity, I'd sooner think it was screen printed. Better job, less cost and faster. The ones that are 2 color...... is there a trap where the 2 colors meet ??

USAFS