Welcome To Signs101.com: Largest Forum for Signmaking Professionals

Signs101.com: Largest Forum for Signmaking Professionals is the LARGEST online community & discussion forum for professional sign-makers and graphic designers.

 


  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

What the Heck is GMT time?????

Discussion in 'CNC Routing & Laser Cutting' started by Bob Rochon, Mar 27, 2004.

  1. Bob Rochon

    Bob Rochon Seasoned Sign Freak

    90
    2
    8
    Oct 11, 2003
    Millbury, MA
    Ok what does GMT stand for ??

    And where in the world is it 3:01 pm when it's 10:01 in EST ( eastern standard time)
     
    Tags:
  2. Shovelhead

    Shovelhead Major Contributor

    10,882
    15
    0
    Dec 5, 2003
    Greenwich Mean Time????

    :cool1:
     
  3. OldPaint

    OldPaint Major Contributor

    GREATER MASSACHUSETTS TIME? HEHEHEHEHEHHE
     
  4. ernie

    ernie Member

    51
    0
    0
    Feb 2, 2004
    It's the time in England at the prime meridian. So we are 5 hrs behind in the EST zone.
     
  5. Bob Rochon

    Bob Rochon Seasoned Sign Freak

    90
    2
    8
    Oct 11, 2003
    Millbury, MA
    Well it's good to still have ties to the mother country, so does that make Big Ben the grandaddy of all clocks?? LOL
     
  6. giantsfan1951

    giantsfan1951 Member

    148
    0
    0
    Aug 5, 2003
    i believe Shovelhead is right - GREENWICH MEAN TIME
     
  7. dccas

    dccas Member

    234
    1
    0
    Oct 16, 2003
    why do we use gmt? why not just good ol fashioned est?
    and next week daylight est, does that mean we'll be behind six hours from gmt?

    :smile:
     
  8. scott pagan

    scott pagan Member

    329
    0
    16
    Feb 4, 2004
    charlotte nc
    from NOAA.org

    "GMT was established to aid worldwide oceanic navigation and is based on the rotation of the Earth. It was not until the British railway system started using GMT in the mid 1800s that GMT was adopted "for land use". And it was not until the late 1800s that GMT was adopted universally. At this time, the 24 time zones were created along with the International Date Line.

    I know, you want to know how to convert GMT into your local time zone. Well, it goes like this:

    During Daylight Savings Time, GMT is 4 hours ahead of Eastern Daylight Time (EDT). So if the time is 0800 GMT, it is 4:00 a.m. in New York City and Miami and 1:00 a.m. in Los Angeles. During Standard Time, GMT is 5 hours ahead of Eastern Standard Time (EST). So, 1000 GMT corresponds to 5:00 a.m. in New York City and Miami and 2:00 a.m. in Los Angeles.

    Please note that GMT may be listed as Zulu (Z) or Coordinated Universal Time (UTC). "
     
Loading...

Share This Page

 


Loading...